

Kirwan Faculty Research and Scholarship Prize

The Kirwan Faculty Research and Scholarship Prize recognizes a faculty member for a highly significant work of research, scholarship, or artistic creativity completed in the recent past. The prize can be awarded for a publication, an invention, a performance, or any other activity within the faculty member's academic discipline.

All current full-time tenure-track or tenured faculty are eligible. The prize carries an honorarium of \$5000 and is awarded at the Fall Convocation.

I. ELIGIBILITY

- Nominees must be full-time tenured or tenure-track faculty. Each nominee must have performed the significant work of research, scholarship, or artistic creativity in the recent past (within 5 years) while serving as a full-time faculty member at the university, and must be employed by the university during the year in which the nomination is submitted.
- 2. Previous recipients of the Kirwan Faculty Research and Scholarship Prize will not be eligible. We will **not** be rolling over nomination packages from previous years any longer. If you were nominated previously, updated nomination packages will need to be submitted moving forward.

II. APPLICATION MATERIALS

The following materials must be submitted through the <u>InfoReady</u> portal by March 1st, 2025 to be considered:

- 1. <u>Nomination cover sheet</u> including the names and addresses of the nominee and nominator and the title of the research, scholarship, or artistic work for which the individual is being nominated. *This information will be filled out electronically on the InfoReady submission page.*
- 2. Nominee's current CV, résumé, or a brief biographical sketch.
- 3. <u>Letter of nomination</u> that briefly articulates why the individual is being honored and how the individual exemplifies the criteria for the award.
- 4. <u>Letters of endorsement</u> from at least two, but no more than three, individuals outside the university should accompany the nomination.
- 5. <u>Additional supporting material</u>, such as national and international award announcements, media reviews, citations, analyses may be submitted as appropriate.

III. SELECTION PROCEDURE

1. The Kirwan Faculty Research and Scholarship Prize Committee is appointed by the Division of Research. The committee will be chaired by a Distinguished University Professor. In addition to the chair, the committee shall include four faculty broadly representing the arts, humanities, sciences and professional programs on campus. In addition, the President of the Graduate Student Government and two individuals representing federal, state or local leadership, the private sector, or alumni shall also serve as members of the committee.

2. The committee will submit their nomination for the Kirwan Faculty Research and Scholarship Prize to the Division of Research by April 2025. The Division of Research will then submit a nomination memorandum to the Office of Faculty Affairs. The memorandum should include a list of the committee members, the number of nominations and the rationale for the selection. The Office of Faculty Affairs will forward the nomination to the Provost & President's Office for approval. The President will notify the winner. The Division of Research is responsible for notifying other candidates.

IV. AWARD PRESENTATION:

Andrew Childs, Computer Science – 2024

The award will be conferred at the annual Fall Convocation.

AWARDEES OF THE KIRWAN FACULTY RESEARCH AND SCHOLARSHIP PRIZE

Jeffrey Bub, Philosophy – 2005 Eugenia Kalnay, Atmospheric and Oceanic Science – 2006 Vincent Carretta, English – 2007 Sankar Das Sarma, Physics – 2008 Jeffrey Adams, Mathematics – 2009 Igbal Hamza, Animal and Avian Sciences - 2010 Roy A. Mariuzza, Cell Biology & Samp; Molecular Genetics - 2012 Richard Walker, Geology – 2011 Nathan Fox, Human Development and Quantitative Methodology – 2013 Linda Mabbs, School of Music – 2014 Raymond St. Leger, Entomology – 2015 Neil Fraistat, English – 2016 Peter Shawhan, Physics - 2018 Yuhuang Wang, Chemistry and Biochemistry - 2019 Derek Richardson, Astronomy - 2020 Liangbing Hu, Materials Science and Engineering – 2021 Richard Bell, History – 2022 Donald Milton, Global, Environmental, and Occupational Health – 2023